Thursday, June 28, 2018

Rainy Day Friends (Book Review)

Title: Rainy Day Friends
Author: Jill Shalvis
Publication: William Morrow, various formats, 2018
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Plot: After Lanie’s husband dies, her grief is offset by bitterness when she learns he was a multiple bigamist. Trying to escape from painful memories, she takes a temporary graphic design job at a family-managed Capriotti winery. Welcomed by an outgoing family that provides lasagna for lunch every day, Lanie is reluctantly attracted to handsome Mark Capriotti, a deputy sheriff and single father. Although neither Lanie nor Mark is looking for a relationship, they fall for each other pretty quickly and Lanie starts to regain her self-confidence – until her new life is threatened by a young, pregnant, new winery employee, River Brown . . .

Audience: Fans of Susan Wiggs, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins

My Impressions: This was a fun, if predictable, "life after heartbreak" summer read with an entertaining setting. It is book 2 in a new Wildstone series but it works well as a standalone. Shalvis is known for her quirky and interconnected characters and everyone in this story has lots of personality except the unhappy and reserved Lanie. Lanie is an interesting heroine, recovering from the betrayal of her husband’s infidelity and understandably unwilling to be around anyone or anything that reminds her of such a painful situation. She resists being pulled into the Capriotti family but they give her no choice! Cora Capriotti, the family matriarch, is a great character, warm and welcoming to those in need such as Lanie and River – I hope she gets her own book before this series is over!
Source: I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher and TLC Book Tours for review purposes, and immediately ordered the first book in the series.  You can visit other stops on the tour by clicking below:

Monday, July 2nd: The Book Date
Tuesday, July 3rd: bookchickdi
Wednesday, July 4th: Broken Teepee
Friday, July 6th: A Soccer Mom’s Book Blog
Monday, July 9th: Stranded in Chaos
Tuesday, July 10th: Jathan & Heather
Thursday, July 12th: Time 2 Read
Friday, July 13th: Girl Who Reads
Monday, July 16th: A Chick Who Reads
Tuesday, July 17th: Instagram: @Novelmombooks
Friday, July 20th: Not in Jersey

No comments: